The Return of the Ray

After a whirlwind of a trip to F.R.G. (6 days 5 nights!) I am now back in Gijón 🙂 There aren’t enough positive adjectives to describe how amazing Erin and David’s wedding was…. just know that despite being a nervous wreck I had one of the best days of my life. Seriously, I can’t remember seeing my family so happy before 🙂 Congratulations to Mr. and Mrs. Edwards!!

P.S. Hopefully I can get permission from my sister to post some of her “professional” wedding shots on TRIS when they’re available!

….And now back to reality:

As I promised a few weeks ago I’m finally ready to post some photos of my neighborhood here in Gijón.

View from our street

Our apartment is located on the outside of a plaza/park area – here is a look at one of the beautiful buildings across from where we live.

A view of the plaza

Another city street picture – this one I took on my walk to our public library (I sure know how to find them!) Gotta love the free wifi 🙂

Anybody home??

I also thought you would like to see this – here’s a picture of our apartment door. See anything different from a U.S. door? The first time I came to Spain I was surprised to see how the door handles were located in the middle of the door and not on the right hand side like in America. Also you don’t turn the knobs like we typically do in the U.S. – you actually “open” the door with the key and push the door open with the knob. ¿Nifty right?

Spain “awesomeness” shout-out:

Lastly, I wanted to end this post with a comment about impressed I am with the public transportation system here. I grew up in a Chicago suburb so the only type of public transit we had was the good old Metra train (which isn’t too shabby!) and “car pools” hehe. The city of Gijón definitely takes it to another level. Check it out:

Look at this fancy bus stop! Complete with a digital sign telling you how many  minutes until the next bus arrives. I don’t know if I’m easily impressed, but I think this is just the best thing ever. My sister says that in Chicago bus stops like this exist – but Gijón isn’t the biggest city in Asturias like Chicago is in Illinois -in fact it only has 270,000 people. What I guess I’m trying to say is that a city of Gijón’s size in America wouldn’t have such an advanced public transportation system, right?

And finally:

How sweet are these? Bikes you can take and leave anywhere around the city! Does your town in the U.S. have these? I can honestly say this was something new to me – I’ll definitely have to try it out and let you all know how it goes! P.S. Look at that old guy riding away in the back ground of the picture 🙂

If this were the Colbert Report, Spain’s public transportation would get a definite “tip of the hat”

... you may have buses and bicycles but at least we have giant SUV's!

That’s all for now folks! After some blog talk with my cousins while home for my sister’s wedding I’m now motivated more than ever to keep TRIS updated! Ideas for future posts include descriptions of: a typical grocery shopping outing, a Spanish restaurant experience, and more photos of the city! Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “The Return of the Ray

Leave a Reply

